The Cambrai Museum was founded in 1846 to house the collections of items confiscated during the French revolution. Theses collections were first showcased in the Hôtel de Ville, and later in the chapel of the Saint Julien hospital; then, in 1893, they were taken to a mansion built for the Francqueville family. The building was renovated and extended in 1994 by architects Jean-François Bodin and Thierry Germe and now contains a generalist collection of fine art and archeology laid out over a surface area of 4,000m2. The tour is arranged in chronological order, from prehistoric to contemporary art, and divided into three sections: Archaeology, Local Heritage and Fine Art, with a particular focus on works by 17th- to 20th-century artists (Ingres, Camille Claudel, Rodin, Utrillo, Van Dongen, Sonia Delaunay..). One of the highlights is an audio-visual reconstruction of the town's history based on a relief map of Cambrai.