Northern France Tourism : official website

Ruines des Tours de l'Abbaye de Mont-Saint-Eloi


On the hill at Mont-Saint-Eloi stand two ruined towers, the last-remaining vestiges of a powerful medieval abbey. From the start of the Great War the towers were used by the French Army to observe German positions on Lorette Spur and Vimy Ridge, and this made them important targets for the German artillery. Listed on France's register of ancient monuments in 1921 as a testament to the ravages of war, today the ruins mark the start of a historic trail which culminates in the Canadian Memorial on Vimy Ridge.